Technical Nominees

Voting Process

Review the voting process for the 33rd Annual NAMM TEC Awards.

Night of Show

Night of the Show

Plan ahead for the big TEC Awards night, January 27, 2018.

Presented annually by the NAMM Foundation at The NAMM Show, the TEC Awards recognizes the individuals, companies and technical innovations behind the sound of recordings, live performances, films, television, video games and multi-media. Award categories span 23 Technical Achievement and 8 Creative Achievement Categories. Two new categories were added this past year, Audio Education Technology, and DJ Production Technology.

The NAMM TEC Awards are the “Oscars” of the pro audio and sound recording industry. It’s where the most outstanding products in the worlds of music making, live performances, video games, television and films are recognized and where creative luminaries like Les Paul, Quincy Jones, Joe Perry, Pete Townshend and Stevie Wonder are celebrated for their musical contributions.

Through its Hall of Fame, the TEC Awards honors the pioneers of audio technology and the music industry’s most accomplished producers and audio technicians. The Les Paul Innovation Award pays tribute to musical artists and others whose work has exemplified the creative application of audio technology. TECnology Hall of Fame celebrates innovations and ground breaking technical acheivements of the past.

The 33rd Annual NAMM TEC Awards will be held Saturday, January 27, 2018, in the Hilton Pacific Ballroom, Anaheim, California. The event is part of The NAMM Show, January 25-28, 2018.

Reception begins at 6 pm. Awards ceremony begins at 7 pm.

Nominating and Voting Procedures

The nominees and winners of the TEC Awards are determined through a three-step process. In late April, a “Call for Entries” will be posted on the TEC Awards and NAMM  website, posted in audio media outlets and emailed to audio manufacturers and sound production professionals.

From the pool of product and project submissions in each category, nominees are determined in August by a Nominating Panel comprised of professionals and thought leaders from all areas of the audio and sound production industry. Names and descriptions of the final nominated products and projects will be announced in mid-September 2017.

Eligible nominees are those projects or products that, in the opinion of the Nominating Panel, represent superior accomplishment in their respective fields. This year, these products or projects must have been completed, released or performed during the period beginning September 1, 2016–August 31, 2017.

For questions about the TEC Awards, please contact Karen Dunn at or (925) 708-0307.

33rd Annual NAMM TEC Awards Team

Pete Johnston, Executive Producer
Karen Dunn, Event Director, Nominees and Sponsors
David Schwartz, Chairman of TEC Advisory Board
Eric Geer, Director, Pro Audio Relations/Entries and Nominations Supervisor
David Leaf, Script Director
Lisha Baer, Operations Manager, NAMM Special Events
Jeanne O'Keefe, NAMM PR and Media Contact, Vice President, The Lippin Group